A Storm of Light are primed for a breakout with the 'Nations to Flames' disc and Noisecreep is thrilled to bring you the exclusive album stream before the effort drops in stores and online next Tuesday (Sept. 17).

The band, consisting of former Neurosis visual artist turned frontman/guitarist Josh Graham, bassist Domenic Seita and drummer Billy Graves, is back for the follow-up to 2011's 'As the Valley of Death Becomes Us, Our Silver Memories Fade,' showing growth in their sound and delivering a diverse soundscape of metal and industrial influences.

Graham says of the set, "These songs are much more focused. Even the more ‘epic’ songs are shorter but still accomplish the same journey as the longer songs used to. We’ve ditched the rock elements of the last record and let our early influences of Killing Joke, Bad Brains, Metallica and Crash Worship seep in. We are bringing back the intensity of Black Ocean but with the speed and precision akin to our metal influences. While there are still some slower/sludgy tunes, some songs are twice as fast as the older material.”

The group strikes a chord immediately with the album opener 'Fall,' and also connects on such standout cuts as the intensely powerful 'Disintegrate,' the sludgy rocker 'Apostles of Hatred' and the slow build of 'Lifeless.' Simply put, this set is both heavy in terms of sound and lyrical content.

Fans looking for some additional name recognition with the group will also notice Soundgarden's Kim Thayil and Natchmystium's Will Lindsay turning up on album tracks and lending their stamps of approval.

A Storm of Light's 'Nations to Flames' drops in stores Sept. 17 via Southern Lord Recordings. If you like what you hear in the stream below, you can currently pre-order the effort at this location.

Listen to A Storm of Light's 'Nations to Flames' Album

More From Noisecreep