Orbs, the progressive, hanging-out-in-left-field cross-country collaboration between members of Between the Buried and Me, Cradle of Filth and Fear Before has fully come to fruition. Despite the members' thoroughly metallic background, Orbs are anything but. In fact, it's adventurous space rock, by the band's own admission. The band will release its debut, 'Asleep Next to Science,' on Equal Vision on Aug. 17.

The band was started by Dan Briggs, guitarist for Between the Buried and Me, and Ashley Ellyllon, who has been a keyboardist for Abigail Williams and Cradle of Filth, who traded music through MySpace before it became passe! Fear Before vocalist Adam Fisher and drummer Clayton 'Goose' Holyoak and bassist Chuck Johnson round out the eclectic outfit's lineup.

Briggs spoke to Noisecreep about how he keeps his creative juices flowing and avoids getting burnt out, since he serves in two bands that make not easy to digest! "It's hard sometimes," Briggs told Noisecreep. "Again, with Orbs stuff, I will always jam and have new ideas floating around. I try and make it so it's me writing off Ashley. It's two different sides of my mind and it's hard, but important, to take breaks from both and allow myself to grow."

He let us know BTBAM are off to Europe and that when they get back in August, he will commence writing new stuff. "I am going to be doing something fun and little different," he said. "We may do an EP, not of covers or a new album. I want to get in and experiment. The mindset we are all in right now is that we are so tired of touring, so I want to go home and write."

Fisher also filled Noisecreep in on what's going on Fear Before's world, assuring us that the band is still alive and kicking, dispelling any erstwhile rumors. "A lot of people think we are taking a hiatus or secret break," Fisher said. "But it's time to write and let things happen as opposed to forcing them, like thinking we have to tour. I have 21 songs written, for Fear Before or other stuff. We are very much writing. There nothing weird going on. We are taking our time, and it's nice to get a summer off. Some of us are working normal jobs and just writing, this is the most I've gotten done in a long time. We haven't disappeared or broken up."

'Asleep Next to Science' track listing:

1. Sayer of the Law

2. A Man of Science

3. Megoblastic Madness

4. The Northwestern Bearitories A: We The Animal

5. The Northwestern Bearitories B: Kid Cancer

6. People Will Read Again

7. Something Beautiful

8. Lost at Sea

9. Eclipsical

ORBS tour dates:

Aug 19 Greensboro, NC @ Legitimate Business

Aug 20 Louisville, KY @ Skull Alley

Aug 21 Nashville, TN @ The End

Aug 22 Little Rock, AR @ Juanita's

Aug 23 Denton, TX @ Rubber Gloves

Aug 24 Austin, TX @ Red 7

Aug 26 Phoenix, AZ @ Underground

Aug 27 San Diego, CA @ Radio Room

Aug 28 Los Angeles, CA @ Cobalt Café

Aug 29 San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill

Aug 31 Portland, OR @ Backspace

Sep 01 Seattle, WA @ Studio 7

Sep 02 Boise, ID @ Redroom

Sep 03 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court

Sep 04 Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater

Sep 05 Omaha, NE @ Waiting Room