Texas metal band the Famine recently wrapped recording 'The Architects of Guilt,' the follow-up to the Solid State Records debut, 'The Raven and the Reaping.' In the producer's chair was D. Braxton Henry, guitarist for Devourment, and mixing duties were handled by Jason Suecof, who has crafted the sound of bands like August Burns Red and Luna Mortis. With the recording formed by such capable hands and knowing the ferocious grooves the band is capable of, the sophomore effort looks promising.

'Architects' will be released despite two major setbacks for the band: the departure of original vocalist Kris McCaddon and the burning down of their studio soon after. Though vocal duties were taken up by bassist Nick Nowell, lost in the fire were their gear and preparatory recordings of the new album.

Drummer Mark Garza commented on the band's new sound while in the middle of recording process. "Completely unhinged," he said in a blog post late in August, "I believe because of the anger and emotions we went through over the past year. I feel that we accomplished what we set out to do as far as this recording was concerned considering all of the obstacles that were put in front of us.

"You will hear stuff on this record that you have never heard before, no kidding," Garza continued. "It sounds pretentious, I know, and I hate talking about a recording that you guys have not heard yet because it sounds like typical platitudes that every band says about their new record being heavy and what-not. However, those of you that know us know that we mean what we say."

'The Architects of Guilt' will be released fall 2010.

More From Noisecreep