You might not know who Markus Johansson is, but many of your favorite metal musicians do. The Chicago-based musician is the vocalist/guitarist/mastermind behind Sylencer, a band that also features bassist Johnny Rox. For A Lethal Dose of Truth, Sylencer's upcoming debut album, Johansson called on some of hard rock and metal's most gifted musicians to lend their chops to the recordings.

The featured guest list on A Lethal Dose of Truth includes Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater), Rob Caggiano (Anthrax, The Damned Things), Brendon Small (Dethklok), Andy LaRocque (King Diamond), Gene Hoglan (Testament), and nearly a dozen others. It's an incredible lineup of players and the fact that they all agreed to perform on the material is a testament to Johansson's talent.

Scheduled for a Sept. 4 release, Sylencer will be releasing A Lethal Dose of Truth in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland via dPulse Recordings/Ovrtone Music Group, Inc. and distribution partners NEO MCC GmbH/Sony Music Entertainment Germany, and will be self-releasing it to the rest of the world independently via their newly formed record label, Sylencer Records, Inc.

Noisecreep is proud to exclusively premiere the album trailer for A Lethal Dose of Truth.

Watch Sylencer's Debut Album Trailer

The trailer, which features segments from all 16 songs appearing on the debut, includes performances from all four drummers appearing on the album: Kevin Talley, Gene Hoglan, Sean Reinert (Cynic), and Marco Minnemann (Necrophagist). Other guest performance clips are included in the trailer as well.

Markus Johansson comments, "The past six years have been a relentless pursuit to reach this point, and we are extremely proud to have completed this album entirely on our own. It has been a long and sometimes wild journey, with more ups and downs than we would've

liked, but here we are, still standing. Working with all of the guest musicians on this record has been more than an amazing experience, and we are honored to have had them lend their talents to our debut album. To have accomplished this without a label, without financial backing;

as two musicians with one collective goal, is beyond surreal and a dream come true."

Johansson also revealed to Noisecreep that Kevin Talley would be joining Sylencer as an official member.


The pre-sale for A Lethal Dose of Truth is officially open on Sylencer's Bandcamp page. Pre-ordering the album in either a digital or physical/digital format includes an immediate download of four of the album's sixteen songs, and enters you to win a Gibson USA Explorer that was used in the making of the album.

The complete debut album lineup to Sylencer's A Lethal Dose Of Truth is as follows:

Markus Johansson – Lead Vocals/Lead Guitar

Johnny Rox – Bass Guitar

Kevin Talley – Drums


Michael Angelo Batio – Lead Guitar (MAB, Nitro)

Rob Caggiano – Lead Guitar (Anthrax, The Damned Things)

Metal Mike Chlasciak – Lead Guitar (Rob Halford, Sebastian Bach)

Steve DiGiorgio – Bass Guitar (Sadus, Death, Testament, Iced Earth)

Roland Grapow – Lead Guitar (Helloween, Masterplan)

The Heathen – Vocals (Zimmers Hole)

Gene Hoglan – Drums (Dethklok, Testament, Strapping Young Lad, Death)

Andy LaRocque – Lead Guitar (King Diamond, Death)

Christian Lasegue – Lead Guitar (Jag Panzer)

Marco Minnemann – Drums (Necrophagist, Paul Gilbert, Kreator)

Sean Reinert – Drums (Cynic, Death)

Jordan Rudess – Keyboards (Dream Theater, Liquid Tension Experiment)

Brendon Small – Lead Guitar (Dethklok)

Steve Smyth – Lead Guitar (Forbidden, Testament, Nevermore)

Larry Tarnowski – Lead Guitar (Iced Earth)

Emil Werstler – Lead Guitar (Daath, Chimaira, Levi/Werstler)

More From Noisecreep