Tommy Lee enlisted the public to help him make the new Methods of Mayhem album, so he's cleverly titled the result 'A Public Disservice Announcement,' due out Sept. 21. But it doesn't sound like the public did him a disservice or vice-versa. It's just more rock 'n' roll, of course.

There has never been such a cool opportunity for just about anybody (with talent) to collaborate essentially with one of the world's best rock musicians. Lee and his team, including producer Scott Humphrey, singer-guitarist J3 and others, wrote and recorded all the songs for the album, then made the core components of each available for download (on to anyone wanting to add his or her playing or re-interpret the music.

The press release from Hired Gun Media states that 10,000 submissions were uploaded, including techno tracks from Japan, hand drum rhythms from India and guitar solos from as close to home as San Diego.

"Lee listened to every single submission that was uploaded, chose the best, and integrated the actual audio tracks into the album's final cuts," it reads. "Every single musician whose part was used is credited and thanked on the album."

'A Public Disservice Announcement' track list

1. 'Drunk Uncle Pete'

2. 'Time Bomb'

3. 'Louder'

4. 'Fight Song'

5. 'Blame'

6. 'Two Ways'

7. 'Talk Me Off the Ledge'

8. 'Only One'

9. 'All I Wanna Do'

10. 'Back to Before'

11. 'Party Instructions'

More From Noisecreep