Last year, Monster Magnet released an album of rearranged and re-imagined versions of songs from their 2013 album Lost Patrol called Milking the Stars. They have now done the same thing with their 2010 effort The Mastermind. Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux) is set to be released Oct. 9 via Napalm Records.

The new Monster Magnet song "She Digs That Hole" from the album is now available to stream via High Times. You can listen to the track at this location. Check out the track listing below.

Frontman Dave Wyndorf says, "With Cobras And Fire I wanted to present these songs in a much stranger and dirtier atmosphere. Less 'classic rock' and more...well, I'd guess I'd call it a deranged fusion of Garage-Psych, Fuzz Punk and Movie Soundtrack music. It's almost completely re-recorded (with the bulk of the guitar and bass playing by co-producer Phil Caivano) and as in Milking The Stars I've added organ, piano, sitars and more to flesh out a completely new sound for these tunes."

Wyndorf continues, "There's also a Hawkwind/Pink Fairies inspired cover version of The Temptations 1969 classic 'Ball of Confusion' with background vocals by Monster Magnet co-founder and Rib Eye Bros. frontman Tim Cronin. Plus an 8-minute, tripped out sonic adventure entitled 'I Live Behind the Paradise Machine' specially created by mixer extraordinaire Evil Joe Barresi. Joe is at his best here, seamlessly integrating elements from several Magnet songs into a new, stand alone composition. All in all I call this the weirdest Monster Magnet yet, and that's a good thing! I hope you like it!"

Pre-order bundles of Cobras and Fire are available at this location. You can also pre-order it at iTunes. If you want to hear more of the album, the band has released the audio for "Mastermind '69" and the lyric video for "Watch Me Fade."

Monster Magnet, Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux) Track Listing

1. "She Digs That Hole"
2. "Watch Me Fade"
3. "Mastermind '69"
4. "Hallucination Bomb"
5. "Gods and Punks"
6. "The Titan"
7. "When the Planes Fall From the Sky"
8. "Ball of Confusion"
9. "Time Machine"
10. "I live Behind the Paradise Machine: Evil Joe Barresi's Magnet Mash Vol.1"

More From Noisecreep