Metallica may be the most massive metal band ever. They may be one of the biggest bands rock music has ever seen. But despite their hugeness, they continue their trend of keeping their feet firmly rooted in the underground. From taking bands like the Sword, Machine Head, Baroness, Mastodon and Lamb of God on tour with them, Metallica never get too big for their britches.

Want more proof of this unassailable fact? On June 12, 2008, on the eve of their headlining performance at the Bonnaroo Music Fesival, James and Lars and Kirk and Robert played an intimate, surprise performance full of 'Tallica essentials at The Basement, a 150-capacity venue below Nashville record store Grimey's New & Preloved Music. In attendance were Metclub fan club members, Grimey's staffers, a few lucky friends and members of local law enforcement agencies! When Metallica does an "underplay," security gets called in because things can go buck wild.

You can now experience the explosive energy of that hot and sweaty, packed-to-the-rafters show as though you were there, butted up against the amps. 'Live at Grimey's' will be released by Warner Bros. Records on Black Friday, the biggest retail shopping day of the year.

The release represents Metallica's continued and steadfast support of independent music retailers, as 'Live at Grimey's' will be sold to those who support Record Store Day, an annual event on the third Saturday in April that celebrates the unique culture surrounding over 700 independently-owned record stores in the U.S. and hundreds of stores internationally. Visit for a list of all participating retailers so you can be sure and pick up your copy.

'Live at Grimey's' will be released on standard CD plus as a limited-edition, two-disc set on regular-weight 100-inch vinyl with a gatefold jacket.

'Live at Grimey's' track list

1. 'No Remorse'

2. 'Fuel'

3. 'Harvester of Sorrow'

4. 'Welcome Home (Sanitarium)'

5. 'For Whom the Bell Tolls'

6. 'Master of Puppets'

7. 'Sad but True'

8. 'Motorbreath'

9. 'Seek and Destroy'