Later this month, New York City hardcore vets Madball will be issuing a special EP entitled Rebellion. The 6-song affair features four new tracks and newly recorded versions of two cuts from the band's legendary 1989 7", Ball of Destruction. "I was 12 when we did that original recording, and I don't have the best memory when it comes to a lot of things, but I do remember that session," Madball vocalist Freddy Cricien tells Noisecreep, walking us down memory lane.

"We recorded Ball of Destruction at Don Fury's studio on 2-tracks, live, with no overdubs. You went there, paid him a few hundred dollars and bang everything out. That session had me, Vinnie Stigma (Agnostic Front) on guitars, my brother Roger (Miret, Agnostic Front) on bass and Will Shepler (ex-Agnostic Front) on drums. We also had Craig Setari (Sick of it All) and Mark Ryan (Supertouch) on backing vocals. As gritty as the original recording was, it was cool to be able to go in and re-record a couple of the tracks ("Get Out," "It's My Life") for this new EP," says Cricien.

Cricien then reveals the inspiration behind "The Beast," one of the four new tracks Madball recorded for Rebellion: "That one is about going through the trauma of an anxiety attack. It's something a lot of us have unfortunately have had to deal with, me included. It's a different kind of song, lyrically, for Madball, but it's just like anything else we've written about... it's very real."

Check out Noisecreep's exclusive premiere of "The Beast" below the cut.

Listen to "The Beast"

Madball's Rebellion EP will be released digitally on June 14 and vinyl later in the month via The BNB Label.

Track listing:

1. "Reap What You Sow"

2. "The Beast"

3. "Get Out" (Ball of Destruction re-recording)

4. "Rebellion"

5. "My Blood"

6. "It's My Life" (Ball of Destruction re-recording)

Watch Madball Recording the Rebellion EP

More From Noisecreep