The Dark Element, a new project featuring the talents of former Nightwish singer Anette Olzon and Sonata Arctica guitarist Jani Lilmatainen, have released a new self-titled single out into the world. It's from their upcoming self titled debut album, which will arrive Nov. 10.

The song sounds like a beautiful harmony between both musicians' former projects. Guitar work embodies the kinds of dramatic, sweeping arrangements that Sonata Arctica are known for, combined with the high stakes, exciting singing of Nightwish. The project has its own identity however, combining some elements of industrial, gothic synthesizers in with the rest of the music. It's sure to please fans of both projects and gives a good taste as to what fans can expect from their upcoming record.

In a statement, Lilmatainen said, "I have always been a big fan of Anette's voice and when the opportunity to work with her arose, writing and producing an album, it was something I just couldn't say no! It has been a blast working on the songs and I can't wait for everyone to hear the final result. This will be epic! The songs are extremely melodic and to the point. My goal has been to write catchy songs with hooks that will haunt your dreams, and I think it's pretty much 'mission accomplished.' Stay tuned for something special!"

Olzon added, "I am so looking forward to this album and I believe our collaboration worked like a perfect match and I am really happy that Jani and Frontiers asked me to do this with them!"

Hear the track above, and see the track listing and album artwork below.

The Dark Element CD Cover 


The Dark Element, The Dark Element Tracklisting 

01. The Dark Element
02. My Sweet Mystery
03. Last Good Day
04. Here's to You
05. Someone You Used to Know
06. Dead to Me
07. Halo
08. I Cannot Raise the Dead
09. The Ghost and the Reaper
10. Heaven of Your Heart
11. Only One Who Knows Me

10 Greatest Power Metal Bands

Top 25 Power Metal Albums of All Time

More From Noisecreep