The super Swedes of Laethora -- which features Dark Tranquillity guitarist Niklas Sundin and the Provenance members Joakim Rosén (guitar), Jonnie Tell (bass) and Joel Lindell (drums), along with vocalist Jonatan Nordenstam -- will release their second album, 'The Light in Which We All Burn,' on May 11 from The End Records.

The album, their follow-up to 2007's 'March of the Parasite,' is a 13-song amalgam of death metal, tech metal and grind that also incorporates enticing melodic elements into its sonic maelstrom. The disc was recorded in Sweden and mastered by Peter In de Betou (Meshuggah, Hypocrisy, Dark Funeral).

Two tracks from the album, 'A.S.K.E.' and 'Humanae,' are currently streaming on the band's MySpace.

"Humanae is one of the more eclectic songs from the album, and it's a good representation of what we wanted to achieve," said Sundin. "Elements from different extreme metal sub-genres are blended with more progressive chord progressions, all topped off with an epic ending part that still sends shivers through our spines."

Other songs include 'Ekpyrosis,' 'I As Infernal,' 'The Sightless' and 'Damnable Doctrine.'

More From Noisecreep