After announcing last week that the title of their upcoming third studio album would be 'Melophobia,' Cage the Elephant have unveiled the cover art and track listing (see below). It will be released Oct. 8 via RCA Records.

'Melophobia' is available for pre-order at iTunes beginning today (Aug. 13). Fans who pre-order the album will receive a free download of the recently released first single 'Come a Little Closer.'

'Melophobia' was recorded in Nashville and reunites the band with producer Jay Joyce, who produced the group's prior two releases. It's the follow-up to 2011's 'Thank You Happy Birthday,' which debuted at  No. 2 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart and has sold over 250,000 copies to date

"This album has tested us as individuals and as a collective," says drummer Jared Champion. "We're five people fighting for our own ideologies of good music -- we clash stylistically and sometimes even personally. The studio is the place where we push all of those individual creative emotions together and smash them to the dispersion point until they explode like a timebomb."

"With the explosion arrives something beautiful and in the end, when you listen back and goose bumps prick your skin like the first few drops of a summer rainfall on searing concrete, you know that you and your band of brothers have created something substantial," Champion reveals. "Conquering our melophobia is what drives us."

Cage the Elephant will be playing shows with Muse in September. The tour kicks off Sept. 3 in Charlotte, N.C.

Cage the Elephant, 'Melophobia' Track Listing

1 'Spiderhead'
2 'Come a Little Closer'
3 'Telescope'
4 'It's Just Forever' (featuring Alison Mosshart)
5 'Take It or Leave It'
6 'Halo'
7 'Black Widow'
8 'Hypocrite'
9 'Teeth'
10 'Cigarette Daydreams'

More From Noisecreep