Blending equal parts rock 'n' roll, blues, stoner rock and psychedelia, Ape Machine is a band whose heart is steeped in the rich musical history of the late '60s and '70s. That doesn't mean they're some kind of hippie dippy throwback band. Ape Machine delivers their material with heavy metal muscle and all of their arrangements are sharpened by Ian Watts' ballsy guitar work.

The Portland, Ore. combo will be issuing 'War to Head,' their sophomore album, next month.

Recorded at The Magic Closet Studios with Isaiah "Ikey" Owens [Mastodon, The Mars Volta] and mixed at Supernatural Sound, the record delivers nine tracks of heavy, organic music that melds exhilarating ambitiousness with a well-honed accessibility. Noisecreep has the exclusive premiere of 'The Sun,' the second track off the upcoming album.

Listen to 'The Sun' from Ape Machine

"We went into the studio with the idea of slamming out a record that's played live, heavy-as-sh-- and the way we feel it should be done," dishes guitarist Ian Watts. "Bringing Ikey Owens in as producer and guest organist added another dimension and a musical co-conspirator. We kept things fully analog throughout the mix process for an end result that's raw, uncut Ape Machine."

Ape Machine's 'War to Head' will be out September 20th via the band's guerilla label, Ape Machine Music.

The track listing is as follows:

1.) Hold Your Tongue

2.) The Sun

3.) Can't Cure Deceit

4.) Death of the Captain

5.) Black Night

6.) No Sugar in My Coffee

7.) Downtrodden

8.) Please Do Not Use Red Ink and Do Not Erase

9.) What's Up Stanley?

More From Noisecreep