The launch trailer for EA Sports 'NHL 14' features the rousing Dropkick Murphys tune 'The Boys Are Back,' and it's a fitting track considering the hockey's struggles with the lockout as well as the band's longtime love for the game. The song, which is featured on the group's last album 'Signed and Sealed in Blood,' isn't the only interesting addition to the 'NHL 14' soundtrack.

Although such songs as Buckcherry's 'Gluttony' and Wolfmother's 'Joker And The Thief' are the perfect complement to hockey's adrenaline fueled nature, the 'NHL 14' soundtrack isn't a one-dimensional compilation of similar rockers. German techno outfit Zombie Nation is a welcome addition, as 'Kernkraft 400' is among the 14 licensed tracks for the collection. Danish rockers New Politics, a group with just two albums under their belt, contribute 'Harlem,' a single taken from their sophomore effort 'A Bad Girl in Harlem.'

The Rise Against song 'Lanterns' has an interesting backstory, as it's featured as a bonus track from their album 'Endgame' and is also part of the just released rarities collection 'Long Forgotten Songs: B-Sides & Covers 2000-2013.'

Another excellent edition is the Black Veil Brides single 'In the End,' which comes off last year's album 'Wretched and Divine: The Story of the Wild Ones.' The tune was named Best Song at the Revolver Golden God Awards, and the honor led bit of controversy for Black Veil Brides frontman Andy Biersack, who criticized the "haters" during his acceptance speech.

The 'NHL 14' soundtrack also features such acts as Soundgarden, Airbourne, Biffy Clyro, Bullet for My Valentine and Heaven's Basement and is currently streaming via Spotify. 'NHL 14' is now available on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 consoles.

'NHL 14' Soundtrack Listing

1. Airbourne -- 'Live It Up'
2. Biffy Clyro -- 'Modern Magic Formula'
3. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club -- 'Let The Day Begin'
4. Black Veil Brides -- 'In the End'
5. Buckcherry -- 'Gluttony'
6. Bullet For My Valentine -- 'Riot'
7. Dropkick Murphys -- 'The Boys Are Back'
8. Hanni El Khatib -- 'Family'
9. Heaven's Basement -- 'Fire, Fire'
10. New Politics -- 'Harlem'
11. Rise Against -- 'Lanterns'
12. Soundgarden -- 'Been Away Too Long'
13. Wolfmother -- 'Joker And The Thief'
14. Zombie Nation -- 'Kernkraft 400'

More From Noisecreep