Since last month's unveiling of the new song 'Psywar,' fans of the legendary black metal band Mayhem have been anxiously awaiting details on a new album. 'Esoteric Warfare' will be released on May 27 in the U.S. via Season of Mist (track listing below).

Mayhem's first album since 2007's 'Ordo ad Chao' once again will feature Attila Csihar on vocals, Necrobutcher on bass and Hellhammer on drums. This will be the first album for guitarist Teloch, who replaced Blasphemer.

'Esoteric Warfare' will be available in several different formats, including CD, limited edition box set and various vinyl configurations. Pre-orders will be available here.

Mayhem were one of the pioneers of black metal, and the Norwegian band has a long and controversial history. They are prominently featured in 'Black Metal: Evolution of the Cult,' a recently published history of the genre.

After playing Germany's Kings of Black Metal Festival April 5, Mayhem have a European tour that kicks off May 14 in Hamburg, Germany. Later on in the summer they have some festival dates planned, including Metalfest in the Czech Republic and Switzerland's Inferno Festival.

Mayhem - 'Esoteric Warfare' Track Listing

1. 'Watcher'
2. 'Psywar'
3. 'Trinity'
4. 'Pandaemon'
5. 'Mylab'
6. 'Six Seconds'
7. 'Throne Of Time'
8. 'Corpse Of Care'
9. 'Posthuman'
10. 'Aion Suntalia'