The Dutch symphonic metal band Epica are ready to unleash their sixth studio album. 'The Quantum Enigma' will be released on May 13 on North America, also hitting  shelves in Europe on May 2 and United Kingdom on May 5.

"More than any of our previous albums, this album is a group effort,” the band says. “The only goal we had in mind: creating the album that could lift Epica up to the next level. Every detail finds its way into a perfectly balanced mix and makes Epica sound raw and overwhelming.”

'The Quantum Enigma' was produced by Joost van den Broek (ReVamp, After Forever) and mixed by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat). It was recorded at the Sandlane Recording Facilities in the Netherlands.

It will be available in several configurations. The 2-CD digipak will include several acoustic tracks, while the 3-disc earbook also features instrumental versions of all songs on the album.

The album comes on the heels of last year's DVD 'Retrospect.' It chronicled the band's 2013 10th anniversary concert in Eindhoven, the Netherlands. The nearly three hour show included an orchestra and choir, with Epica performing songs from throughout their career.

Epica's dynamic style apparently works well for ice skating. At the current Winter Olympics in Sochi, Czech figure skater Michal Březina performed to “In The Hall of the Mountain King” from Epica's 'Classical Conspiracy' album.

Epica - 'The Quantum Enigma' Track Listing

1 - 'Originem'
2 - 'The Second Stone'
3 - 'The Essence Of Silence'
4 - 'Victims Of Contingency'
5 - 'Sense Without Sanity (The Impervious Code)'
6 - 'Unchain Utopia
7 - 'The Fifth Guardian (Interlude)'
8 - 'Chemical Insomnia
9 - 'Reverence (Living In The Heart)'
10 - 'Omen (The Ghoulish Malady)'
11 - 'Canvas Of Life'
12 - 'Natural Corruption'
13 - 'The Quantum Enigma (Kingdom Of Heaven, Part II)'

More From Noisecreep