Crowbar frontman and riff overlord Kirk Windstein has just announced the details to Dream in Motion, his first-ever solo album. A music video for the title track, along with more information, can be found below.

This isn't the wrapped-knuckles sludge Windstein has made his name on. Instead, he embraces a more mellow approach, comparatively at least, while retaining the overt heaviness of his signature sound with lurching riffs and simple, effective melodies which have shades of his affection for '70s rockers Thin Lizzy and UFO.

"The idea to record a solo album started out as, 'I’m going to do an acoustic record,' but that’s just so cliché," Windstein said of the album's origins. "Nothing against that, but it’s been done a million times. But I had been thinking about doing something a little more mellow for some time. It’s something I wanted to do, I needed to do. It’s another side of my songwriting, my personality. It’s another side of me. It’s something I did for myself. It’s not even that this isn’t heavy, because there are bits and pieces that are very heavy. But even the heaviest riff on this is something I couldn’t really do in Crowbar. If some Crowbar fans don’t like it, I’ll understand. But I hope people dig it."

Read the lyrics here and watch the video for "Dream in Motion" below.

A song of hope
A burning mind
Unleashing strength
From deep inside
The will to fight
To carry on
Within my heart it's never ever gone.

This is a dream in motion and it will never end
It's an eternal hunger
Growing life again

I've seen so much
Through all these years
I've seen the light
Through burning tears
I've done my best
To turn away
And kill the darkness
Every single day

My light will never ever fade
I stand alone
My mind will rise above it all

I've learned the pain will slowly die
I've touched the sky

This is a dream in motion and it will never end
It's an eternal hunger

Dream in Motion will be out Jan. 24 via eOne. View the album art and track listing beneath the music video.

Kirk Windstein, "Dream in Motion"

Kirk Windstein, Dream In Motion Album Art + Track Listing


01. "Dream In Motion"
02. "Hollow Dying Man"
03. "Once Again"
04. "Enemy In Disguise"
05. "The World You Know"
06. "Toxic"
07. "The Healing"
08. "Necropolis"
09. "The Ugly Truth"
10. "Aqualung" (Jethro Tull cover)

2019's Best Metal Songs... So Far

More From Noisecreep