The cover art for 'Lulu,' the upcoming album by Metallica and Lou Reed, is a little on the disturbing side, but that's not why London transit authorities have banned promo posters from hanging in the city's tube stations.

As the NME reports, Transport For London has outlawed the image -- an armless female mannequin overlaid with the disc's title, written in red smears -- because it looks too much like graffiti.

While London Underground riders will miss out on the promo campaign, the unlikely supergroup shouldn't have any trouble drumming up interest in the record. Due out Nov. 1, 'Lulu' finds metal's biggest band joining one of rock's coolest frontmen on a collection of songs inspired by the writings of German expressionist Frank Wedekind. This one's bound to be even weirder than the cover suggests.

Warner Bros. Records
Warner Bros. Records

Metallica and Lou Reed's 'Lulu' will be out on November 1st via Warner Bros. Records.

'Lulu' tracklisting:

01. Brandenburg Gate (4:19)

02. The View (5:17)

03. Pumping Blood (7:24)

04. Mistress Dread (6:52)

05. Iced Honey (4:36)

06. Cheat On Me (11:26)

07. Frustration (8:33)

08. Little Dog (8:01)

09. Dragon (11:08)

10. Junior Dad (19:28)

More From Noisecreep