Contact Us

The Melvins Appreciate Quiet Fans in New York City

“All you people up front look as bored as my mom when she comes to see us. Don’t worry. Down is still going to play.” After assuring the expressionless crowd that the headliner had an in-depth set prepared for them, Buzz Osbourne apologetically said, “Even if you are bored, thanks for seeing us.”

Also known as King Buzzo, Osbourne and an ever-revolving group of musicians (including second longest Melvins member drummer Dale Crover) have consistently provided stoners all over the planet with acid-soaked sludge since 1982. To say the Melvins are influential pioneers is an understatement.

Still, when the band caused a sludge-quake at Nokia Theater — a 2,100 capacity venue — in New York City on Sept. 11, a good portion of the audience remained confused by the slow noise. I could only imagine how the reaction would have been from the same people had the band attempted to perform their remix album, ‘Chicken Switch,’ which will be released Sept. 29.

“I’d like to thank Down for letting us on this tour,” Osbourne said as he strummed and stepped backwards. He stepped forwards toward the mic again and said, “I’d like to thank my band for putting up with my bulls—.” Afterwards he explained what a special tour it had been.

The most heartfelt part of the band’s performance was when they sang the national anthem at the close of their set, in tribute to the lives lost eight years ago on the same day. Down members joined them on stage, too. It was a special moment for the New York crowd.

With a career track that spans over 25 years, the Melvins will be releasing ‘Chicken Switch’ via Ipecac. The 15 tracks were each remixed by artists who pulled song parts from entire albums and renamed the new song.

‘Chicken Switch’ track list
01. Eye Yamatsuka — ‘Washmachine Sk8tronics’
02. Christoph Heemann — ‘Emperor Twaddle’
03. V/VM — ‘She Chokes Her Dying Breath & Does It in My Face’
04. John Duncan — ‘AAHHH!’
05. Matmos — ‘Linkshänder’
06. Lee Ranaldo — ‘EggNog Trilogy I) She’s Ivanhoe II) Cancer III) Inebriated’
07. Merzbow — ‘SNOW REM REM IBVZ’
08. David Scott Stone — ‘Prick Concrete/Revolution M’
09. Panacea — ‘Queen (Electroclash Remix)’
10. Sunroof! — ‘Silky Apple Butter of Youth’
11. Kawabata Makoto — ‘4th Floor Helicopter’
12. Farmersmanual — ‘disp-tx-skel-mach-murx’
13. Void Manes — ‘Overgoat’
14. RLW — ‘Over From Under a Dog, Girl, Boy Treatment’
15. Speedranch — ‘Hard Revenge Milly Bloody Battle vs. the Melvins‘ Ozmatized Gore Police’

Recommended for You

Around the Web


Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Noisecreep quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!