Contact Us

Tarja Turunen Reveals ‘From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas)’ Album Details


Former Nightwish singer Tarja Turunen has been incredibly active as a solo artist in recent years, releasing albums in both 2015 and 2016. She’ll keep the streak alive with another release in 2017, this time putting a gothic spin on Christmas classics on the forthcoming From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas) album.

This record will mark the seventh full length release of her solo career and will be issued on Nov. 17 through earMUSIC, just in time for the holiday season. This collection will fuse a grand orchestra with gothic overtones to lay the foundation for Tarja’s elegant operatic voice as she tackles grim moods across 11 Christmas standards and one original song, “Together.”

“Producing a dark Christmas album in the middle of the summer is a very interesting process, especially if you are doing it by the turquoise Caribbean Sea. It’s significantly different from the snowy Christmas that I am used to in my home country Finland — another proof that the darkness comes from deep within,” comments the singer. “On this album, I explored the other side of Christmas — the Christmas of the lonely people and the missing ones, the Christmas for those that do not find joy in the blinking lights and the jingle bells.”

The effort was produced by Tarja alongside Jim Dooley, an Emmy Award-winning film score composer. Tim Palmer (Pearl Jam, The Cure, David Bowie, U2) was also on board for the production as well as the mix. From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas) will arrive in a variety of formats (1CD Digipak, 1LP Gatefold pressed on 180 gram black vinyl and digital), each with a different album cover as seen below along with the complete track listing.

Tarja, From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas) Track Listing + Various Album Covers


01. “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel”
02. “Together”
03. “We Three Kings”
04. “Deck The Halls”
05. “Pie Jesu”
06. “Amazing Grace”
07. “O Tannenbaum”
08. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
09. “God Rest Ye”
10. “Feliz Navidad”
11. “What Child Is This”
12. “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”

Where Does Tarja Turunen Rank Among the Top 50 Hard Rock + Metal Frontwomen of All Time?

10 Rock + Metal Christmas Songs That DON’T Suck

Watch the Music Video for Tarja Turunen's 'Innocence'

Loudwire Music Awards Tickets Available Now!

Loudwire Music Awards Poster

Recommended for You

Around the Web


Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Noisecreep quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!