Contact Us

‘New York City Sucks’ Compilation Focuses on the Small and Unsigned

Jesse Zuretti

The metal scene in New York is vast and always evolving. If a band is from the Big Apple or close by, they have to constantly be breaking new ground. If bands don’t, they get washed back into the faceless sea of metal wannabes. One of our favorite blogs, MetalSucks, is hoping to shed light on the lesser-known bands we might all be sleeping on with the free compilation series ‘New York City Sucks.’ That’s right — free!

“We try and highlight some of our favorite local bands on MetalSucks from time to time, but frankly it’s just not possible to keep up; seemingly every month there’s another fantastic band that’s as good or better than any number of “signed” acts from around the US or the world, only they’re not that well-known outside of our city’s borders,” MetalSucks said, detailing why they have curated these compilations.

Volume one boasts 14 songs and will be available through MetalSucks on Jan. 18. The second volume will be given away Feb. 22 and contains 13 songs. Both volumes contain high-quality MP3s (320 kbps), covers designed by the Binary Code guitarist Jesse Zurett, and a PDF of digital liner notes with information on all the bands.

‘New York City Sucks: Volume One’ track list

1. East of the Wall
2. Made out of Babies
3. Tiger Flowers
4. Black Anvil
5. Naam
6. Batillus
7. Meek is Murder
8. The Binary Code
9. Castevet
10. Hung
11. Wizardry
12. Pyrrhon
13. Mutant Supremacy
14. Incend iary

‘New York City Sucks: Volume Two’ track list

1. Wetnurse
2. Tombs
3. Moth Eater
4. Hull
5. The Austerity Program
6. Defeatist
7. Goes Cube
8. Krallice
9. Empyreon
10. Abacinate
11. ikillya
12. Atakke
13. The Ghost in Black and White

Recommended for You

Around the Web


Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Noisecreep quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!