Contact Us

Ihsahn Reveals ‘Das Seelenbrechen’ Cover Art + Track Listing

Ihsahn - Das Seelenbrechen
Candlelight Records

Ihsahn will be unleashing his fifth solo album ‘Das Seelenbrechen’ on Oct. 22 in North America. Pre-orders for the digital, CD and vinyl versions of  the album will begin Sept. 10.

The Emperor frontman’s past solo albums have explored a variety of genres, with the last two being very progressive and featuring saxophone parts. This one, though, is a step in a different direction.

“Musically, this album is a very deliberate sidestep to what I have been doing; a necessity to reset the creative parameters so not to fall into formula,” Ihsahn reveals. “I think I do my best work slightly outside of my comfort zone and I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time. Free form and improvisational can be scary for a musician but it is very liberating at the same time.”

‘Das Seelenbrechen’ was recorded at his own studio in Norway in collaboration with Leprous drummer Tobias Ornes Anderson. In discussing the album, Ihsahn says, “The general idea for this album was to try and dig deep into this raw source and express it without too much refinery and do so within a less familiar musical landscape. It is the reason for several purely improvised songs and parts on this album. I spontaneously performed with just lyrics and the idea of the atmosphere I was wishing to create. While many will feel it sounds different, I don’t think it is necessarily different from my previous album. And in my head, it will fit in perfectly with my plans for the sixth album.”

Norwegian black metal legends Emperor will reunite next year at the Wacken Open Air Festival to celebrate the 20th anniversary of ‘In the Nightside Eclipse.’ Ihsahn, Samoth and Faust will perform the album in its entirety. They will also play some other festivals, but have no plans to record any new material.

Ihsahn, ‘Das Seelenbrechen’ Track Listing

1. ‘Hilber’
2. ‘Regen’
3. ‘NaCl’
4. ‘Pulse’
5. ‘Tacit 2′
6. ‘Tacit’
7. ‘Rec’
8. ‘M’
9. ‘Sub Alter’
10. ‘See’
11. ‘Entropie’ (bonus)
12. ‘Hel’ (bonus)

Next: Watch the Video for Ihsahn's Benefit Single with Devin Townsend + Serj Tankian

Recommended for You

Around the Web


Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Noisecreep quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!