Contact Us

Aerosmith Releasing ‘Rock for the Rising Sun’ Concert Film

Theo Wargo, Getty Images

Aerosmith are back in the spotlight this summer, as Eagle Rock Entertainment is releasing ‘Rock for the Rising Sun’ concert film on Blu-ray, DVD and digital formats on July 23. The collection marks the group’s first live video release since their 2004 effort, ‘You Gotta Move.’

The video gives fans an in-depth look at the rockers as they took their ‘Back on the Road’ tour to Japan during the fall of 2011. Aerosmith’s decision to travel across the ocean just months after the meltdown of the Fukushima nuclear plant may have been questioned by some naysayers, but the band has always carried a special bond with their Japanese fans. This disc not only takes you onstage, but follows the members offstage as they continue their tour.

Along with behind the scenes footage, the DVD contains performances of some of their biggest hits, which include ‘Walk This Way,’ ‘Sweet Emotion,’ and ‘Livin’ on the Edge.’ Bonus features include a rendition of ‘Lick and a Promise’ from the Hiroshima Green Garden Arena and a Tokyo Dome performance of ‘One Way Street.’

Although filmmaker Casey Patrick Tebo shot all of Aerosmith’s shows in Japan, he initially did not have a documentary in mind. When viewing the extensive footage and seeing the band’s connection with their fans, Tebo believed the material was perfect for a concert film. “Most of all, we feel your pride, your love and your strength,” says Steven Tyler in the DVD trailer, which can be seen below. “It’s such a beautiful thing for us to feel.”

Aersosmith’s ‘Rock For The Rising Sun’ Track Listing

1. ‘Draw the Line’
2. ‘Love in an Elevator’
3. ‘Livin’ on the Edge’
4. ‘Hangman Jury’
5. ‘No More No More’
6. ‘Mama Kin’
7. ‘Monkey on My Back’
8. ‘Toys in the Attic’
9. ‘Listen to the Thunder’
10. ‘Sweet Emotion’
11. ‘Boogie Man’
12. ‘Rats in the Cellar’
13. ‘Movin’ Out’
14. ‘Last Child’
15. ‘S.O.S. (Too Bad)’
16. ‘Walk This Way’
17. ‘Train Kept a Rollin”

Recommended for You

Around the Web


Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Noisecreep quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!